The curtain has gone up on the 17th Palermo-Montecarlo which has just released the Notice of Race and officially launched registrations. Competitors will gather on Friday 19th August 2022 in the Gulf of Mondello for the start of this 500 nautical mile offshore race.

Organised by Circolo della Vela Sicilia, in partnership with Yacht Club de Monaco and Yacht Club Costa Smeralda and support from Tasca d’Almerita, the event is a highly anticipated date on the international summer sailing calendar.

Starting in Sicily, the course takes the fleet through a gate in front of Porto Cervo towards the tricky Strait of Bonifacio then up the west or east coast of Corsica (tacticians decision!) to the finish in Monaco.

The previous edition produced an outstanding performance by the impressive 100′ Maxi Arca SGR belonging to Guido and Alberto Miani. Skippered by Furio Benussi, the boat took line honours to win the Giuseppe Tasca d’Almerita Trophy. In corrected time, the J122 Joy belonging to Circolo della Vela Sicilia and skippered by Edoardo Bonanno had a great race to win the prestigious Angelo Randazzo Challenge Trophy in the IRC group.




“After a year out due to the pandemic, last year’s Palermo-Montecarlo was a particularly exciting and significant one as for many it represented a return to competition and some degree of normality,” says Circolo della Vela Sicilia President, Agostino Randazzo. “Unfortunately we were not able to put on all the social activities that in the past have helped make the regatta a great occasion, but we are hoping if conditions allow to make up for it in style this year”.

As well as being a stage in the Italian Offshore Championship organised by the Italian Sailing Federation, the IMA (Mediterranean Maxi Offshore Challenge) and Class40 Mediterranean Trophy, the race is for offshore sailing boats with an international ORC or IRC rating. Maxi Yachts (IRC), Classic Yachts, one designs and multihulls compete for individual class prizes as well as the two main trophies: Giuseppe Tasca d’Almerita Trophy for the first to cross the line in real time and the Angelo Randazzo Perpetual Challenge Trophy for the winner in corrected time.